Storing Garlic

Many years ago we purchased our home and one of the first things installed was a cold room.    My husband built it to store preserves, fruits, vegetables over the winter.   I also use it as a pantry.   A day is not complete unless I’ve made several trips to the fruit cellar.

Cold rooms are maintained easily – so don’t look too close because mine it is in desperate need of a clean up.   Seasonal maintenance is simple, I keep the door open in the summer so mold doesn’t grow.   Also in the fall I put a small fan on the floor to circulate the air until the temperature hits about 40  – which is perfect refrigerator conditions.    During the coldest days of winter I do close up one of the vents so ice doesn’t build.

Leave a Reply

