Plant of the week – Martha Washington Geraniums

Martha Washington Geraniums have larger than normal geranium blooms.   They come in shades of red, pink, purple and white.   Regal Geraniums grow to a height of approximately 2 feet as they have strong woody stems.   The leaves are stiff and pleated.

This is my first year growing the Regal Geraniums.   I always thought they were pretty but thought they needed special care and walked away.    I also looked at the price tag and that convinced me.     Canadian Tire had a door crasher sale and a six in pot was $4.97 – or less than five dollars anyway.    When I examined the pots, they had three plant in each container.      So that’s a bargain.    I bought three colour and separated them all through out the garden.    As you see above they started off slow but now take a look, they have massive blooms.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They flower in the spring and throughout the summer.   If the plants are fertilized weekly they will bloom all summer.   These plants are considered an annual in our climate, and need more water than other geraniums.

I am going to try to over winter  them , bringing them in before the danger of frost .   After the pants finish their blooming period, I will cut them back to keep compact.

So I am going to give this a try, I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

